When nature calls, bring your camera.

Today was what I would consider to be a perfect Ohio day. Bright and sunny enough to enjoy being outside, but cool enough for a sweatshirt. I had my camera, a fresh pack of Parliament Lights, and my best friend Amanda by my side. We decided to drive down to the Valley and take a few pictures of the Blue Herons that gather in the area. A few pictures turned into 4 hours of exploring and hiking.

If you aren’t from Ohio, you’re probably wondering why I so¬†nonchalantly mentioned “Blue Herons” in my last sentence like small talk. Blue Herons are one of the biggest bird species here in Ohio. They hang out in a fenced off area near where I live. It’s become a semi-tradition for people from around here to visit them when the weather breaks. It’s all very Lion King meets National Lampoon.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

It takes all of 2 seconds for us to get completely wrapped up in nature. The day was young, and my camera had a full charge, so we continued into the woods.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

While we were exploring, a deer literally came up 4 feet behind us. He stood for awhile, stared, and then pranced away. It was almost as if he couldn’t hear me flashing my camera like a papparazzi outside of Lindsay Lohan’s house.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

3 thoughts on “When nature calls, bring your camera.

  1. I live near Columbus, Ohio. We just went to one of our Metronome Parks to watch the blue herons in their herony. It was fun.

    I’m glad you had such a great day.

Leave a Reply

