Spicy Steak Shish Kabobs

Do you ever watch someone on TV cook or eat something, and obsess over it until you’re able to have some of your own? I watched an episode of Diners Drive Ins and Dives the other night and had crazy dreams about shish kabobs. I don’t think I’ve ever actually made my own shish kabob, which is pretty insane to me. They are so easy, and I love any recipe that involves improvisation.

I went with a simple steak, green pepper, and onion kabob (we were out of mushrooms). This is my take on a much more complicated recipe.

  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • seasoning salt and black pepper to taste
  • cubed steak
  • onion
  • green peppers
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
Like I said, this is completely improvised. You can pretty much take a stab at any veggie you’d like (pun intended)
 
I rubbed the steak with the dry seasoning mix, and let it sit in the fridge for about a half an hour. I used that time to cut up the green peppers and onions.
Image

 I cooked the kabobs for around 2-3 minutes on each side (depending on how thick the meat is that you’re using). You also want to try and make sure the pieces are around the same size, otherwise it wont lay flat on the grill.

Image

They turned out amazing! the combination of the brown sugar and spicy chili powder is mind blowing. You’ll definitely want to let them sit for a few minutes after they come off, so that the steak can absorb the juices (thats truly where the flavor lies)

Image

I cheated, and paired the kabobs with a boxed rice. You can’t really go wrong with the San Francisco treat though, can you?

Leave a Reply

